A #PoliticsNOW #MacroSW Chat – 10/20/16

blues poster with word select in white, and the word "elect" in parentheses. One can read it as SELECT or ELECT.
poster: AIGA the professional association for design

Join Kristin Battista-Frazee for this chat on action leading up to the November 8th elections. What’s happening your area? What is the social work profession doing to inform our constituencies (everyone, that is!) on issues, voting rights, and more?

9PM EST/ 8 PM CT/ 6 PM PT

Resources:

A Dream Undone: Disenfranchised
Rutenberg, J. (2015, July 29). A Dream Undone: Disenfranchised. The New York Times Magazine, p MM 30. Retrieved from  http://www.nytimes.com/2015/07/29/magazine/voting-rights-act-dream-undone.html *

The Nancy A. Humphreys Institute for Political Social Work says: “Every social worker should read this article on the history of the voting rights act and the decades long (sic) efforts to undo it.”

Wilson, M.H. (2016 ). Social Justice Brief (Voting Rights Update). Washington, D.C.: National Association of Social Workers.

 


 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s